Dangal ng Lipi Awardees (from left to right): Jaime Laya, Estelita Aguirre and Raul Pagdanganan

The Dangal ng Bulacan Foundation Inc. (DBFI), a foundation founded by the recipients of the Gawad Dangal ng Lipi, congratulates three of its members who were awarded by the Board of Accountancy as among the top 100 Filipino Certified Public Accountants (CPAs) in the last 100 years. The honorees were feted in a grand ceremony held on March 17, 2023 at the Manila Hotel on the occasion of the centennial celebration of the Accountancy profession in the Philippines.

The DBFI member honorees are Dr. Jaime C. Laya (Dangal ng Lipi Awardee in 1993 for Banking and Finance), a native of Marilao; Dr. Estelita Caleon-Aguirre (Dangal ng Lipi Awardee in 2001 for Public Service), who hailed from Pulilan; and Regent Raul C. Pagdanganan (Dangal ng Lipi Awardee in 2022 for Health), who grew up in Calumpit. \

Dr. Laya served as Governor of the Central Bank of the Philippines, Dr. Aguirre was Deputy Commissioner of the Bureau of Internal Revenue, and Regent Pagdanganan is a University of the Philippines Regent and President/Chief Executive Officer of the Cardinal Santos Medical Center.

The Accountancy Centenary Award of Excellence was bestowed on “Filipino CPAs who demonstrated unquestionable integrity, contributed immensely in the advancement of the accountancy profession, and participated remarkably in national development,” the Board of Accountancy said. Accountancy was recognized as a profession on March 17, 1923 when the Philippine Legislature enacted Act No. 3105, also known as the Accountancy Act of 1923.

DBFI is extremely proud and honored to have the 3 among its roster of active members. A separate DBFI recognition ceremony is being set to celebrate this extraordinary achievement.